5 Tips For Beating Holiday Weight Gain

diet

photo credit: nhanusek via photopin cc

This is my absolute favorite time of year- from Thanksgiving to Christmas to New Year’s Eve, it’s a time of fun, family, and really, really good food.

Unfortunately, I’ve never been known for having much self-control, especially when it comes to rich, decadent holiday foods. Let’s just say Christmastime is my weight-gaining season- and while I’m not proud of it, I’m not about to become one of those humbugs who deny themselves any pleasure in eating the foods they love most. No way! A few days a year of simple overindulgence never hurt anyone, right? 😉

That being said, I do have a few simple tricks that I’m using this year to help keep my weight in check, and they seem to be helping quite a bit.

  1. Bring water with you everywhere – this is great because 1) I never drink enough water and 2) water is actually really filling. I’ve been noticing that a lot of times when I feel hungry, I’m actually just thirsty. This tip goes hand-in-hand with one of my unspoken rules- never drink your calories when you can eat them! Sounds funny, I know, but I’d rather eat something incredible than drink a glass of juice or whathaveyou, so I try to stick to just plain water (or of course, coffee- which I am totally addicted to).
  2. Eat lots of low-calorie meals, like soup – I love soup, and it’s actually a really great food to keep your weight in check, because it’s low in calories and fills you up. I have a few soup recipes on the blog already, which you can view here, and will be adding lots more in the near future.
  3. Save desserts for the holiday meal – like I said, I have little to no self-control when it comes to having lots of good food around. If I see it several times a day, I will eat it. I’m not kidding. The solution? If I’m  going to bake desserts ahead of time, I will freeze them to keep them out of sight (out of sight, out of mind, right?).
  4. Aim for just a little bit of exercise every day – I’m not a gym person, I’ve never been one. But I do have a couple of freakishly hyper-active dogs that usually force me into walking them every day (haha I’m such a bad person…). Yes, I consider this exercise, and if you don’t, I’d like to see you try walking 140lbs of furry, slobbering tornado. It’s not easy! I guess what I’m trying to say is that if theres something simple that you can do everyday, just do it. You’ll be glad you did!
  5. Keep an eye on your portions – I have a hard time with this one. Fortunately, theres a really great visualization technique that my mom used to teach me: On your plate, visualize a deck of cards. This should be about the portion of protein on your plate. Then visualize a lightbulb, which is the right amount for your starch, like rice or pasta, which is about 1/2 C. Finally, picture a baseball sitting on your plate. This is what 1 C of vegetables would look like- which is the suggested serving.

So, these are the tricks I’ve been using, and will be using throughout the holiday season. If you’re looking for some tips to slim down, hopefully they’ll be helpful to you too!

What do you think? Have you had any success using these techniques? Any other tips to share? I want to hear from you, just let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “5 Tips For Beating Holiday Weight Gain

  1. Pingback: Keep the Weight Off this Holiday Season | DK FitSolutions

What do you think?

