Easy Home-made English Muffins

Re-use of images is allowed, but those who do should link back to this post.

Here’s a great recipe I tried from the King Arthur Flour website- for anyone who hasn’t checked out their website, I highly recommend it. I usually have very good luck with their recipes.

Since I’m trying to avoid GMOs,  I wanted to find english muffins without the corn meal. Unfortunately you can’t seem to buy them that way, so my only option was to make them myself. In place of the corn meal, I used dry Cream Of Wheat (farina). It’s an easy swap, and the texture is exactly the same! 🙂

I’ve always wanted to try my hand at making some english muffins, but was really intimidated by the seemingly complicated process. I’m glad I finally gave it a shot. Actually, it was a lot easier than I thought it would be, and I will definitely be making them again in the near future. The great thing about this recipe is that you don’t have to have special “english muffin rings” to cook the dough in. Basically, you make a simple dough with milk and egg, divide it into balls, flatten and cook on a griddle. Easy-peasy!

King Arthur Flour English Muffin Recipe: Makes 16 muffins

  • 1 3/4 cups lukewarm milk
  • 3 tablespoons softened butter
  • 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, to taste
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 4 1/2 cups King Arthur Unbleached Bread Flour
  • 2 teaspoons instant yeast
  • semolina or farina, for sprinkling the griddle or pan

1) Combine all of the ingredients (except the semolina or farina) in a mixing bowl. (I used my food processor with a dough hook, but had to add a touch more flour to thicken up the dough). This is a very soft dough, so you’ll need to treat it a bit differently than most yeast doughs. If you have a stand mixer, beat the dough until it begins to come away from the sides of the bowl and is smooth and shiny, about 5 minutes. The dough should be very stretchy. Alternatively, for bread machines, use the dough cycle.

2) Scrape the dough into a rough ball and cover the bowl, letting the dough rise until it’s nice and puffy, about 1 to 2 hours.

3) Prepare your griddle. Unless you have two griddles, you’ll need to cook the muffins in shifts. If you’re using a griddle or frying pan that’s not well-seasoned (or non-stick), spray it with non-stick vegetable oil spray. Here’s where I diverge from the original recipe. KAF suggests coating the entire griddle with farina or corn meal, but I found that the excess will burn, resulting in not-so-nice flavored grit which gets all over your awesome muffins. Lame. Next time, I will just set some farina aside in a bowl and press each side of the muffin down in it before placing the dough on the griddle. 

4) Gently deflate the dough, and divide it into 16 pieces. Shape each piece into a smooth ball, then flatten the balls until they’re about 3″ to 3 1/2″ in diameter.

5) Go ahead and lay the uncooked muffins right onto the cold surface you’ll be frying them on. This way, you wont have to move them once they’ve risen, and they can cooking very slowly as you fire the griddle up to its desired heat.

6) Cover the muffins (a piece of parchment works well), and let them rest for 20 minutes. They won’t rise a lot, but will puff a bit.

7) Cook the muffins over low heat for 7 to 15 minutes per side, until their crust is golden brown, and their interior is cooked through. When done, the center of a muffin should register about 200°F on an instant-read thermometer. If you find the muffins have browned before they’re cooked all the way through, no worries; simply pop them into a preheated 350°F oven for about 10 minutes or so, or until they’re thoroughly cooked. My griddle doesn’t have “high, medium, and low” settings, so I set the heat to 250 degrees. It took about 20 min on each side to get a nice golden brown color, and I did have to finish them in the oven as suggested above.

8) Remove the muffins from the griddle (or oven), and let them cool thoroughly before enjoying. Remember: use a fork to split, not a knife to cut. Fork-split muffins will have wonderful nooks and crannies; knife-cut ones won’t.

Yield: 16 large (3″ to 3 1/2″) English muffins.

Here’s what the finished product looked like- I couldn’t believe how great they came out!

Re-use of images is allowed, but those who do should link back to this post.

6 thoughts on “Easy Home-made English Muffins

    • I’m sure there must be a way to find non-GMO corn meal (i.e. organic), I just can’t seem to find it where I live. To the best of my knowledge, wheat is not GMO, but can be GE or genetically engineered, so really I’m just choosing the lesser of two evils. Sadly, I just read an article that Monsanto is preparing to offer a new GMO wheat. If that’s the case, I think the only thing we can do is use 100% all-organic ingredients. My wallet is crying at the thought . . .

What do you think?

