Recipe Review: Mushroom and Walnut Stew with Cheesy Cobbler Topping

Here’s a really great recipe I found on a totally awesome food blog called www.amuse-your-bouche.com. I was looking for a traditional “beef stew” type recipe using mushrooms, but came across this and just had to give it a try. The results? An absolutely delicious dish I had to share with my readers!

I had to use an online metric conversion calculator, as ingredients in the original are measured in grams and milliliters, and list the converted recipe below. (I had to adjust some measurements a little differently to accommodate typical american package sizes, etc.)

This is a wonderful stew of garlic, onion, and mushrooms in a thick, rich broth flavored with thyme and red wine. I was unsure about the walnuts at first, but they add a very nice texture to the whole dish. I love cheddar biscuits, and the topping was the perfect addition to the stew.  The only changes I can think of that I made were to add less wine (the only wine I had in the house at the time was a sweet red wine, not ideal so I added 1/2 the amount to avoid making it too sweet). I wish I had made it with a nice burgundy or merlot, but the wine was my favorite part of the broth. Yum!

Here’s the recipe after I converted it:

For the stew:

  • 1T oil
  • 1T butter
  • 1 lg onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb mushrooms, diced (keep fairly chunky) – (I used crimini)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 2T a/p flour
  • 3/4 C chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 C red wine
  • 2 C vegetable stock

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large pot, melt butter with oil. Saute onions and garlic until tender, then add mushrooms and saute until well cooked.

Reduce heat to low, add paprika, thyme, and flour. Cook, stirring constantly, for one minute, then deglaze the pan with the wine. Simmer for a few minutes, then add the stock and walnuts. Remove from heat.

Prepare cobbler topping below.

For the cobbler topping:

  • 3/4 C self-rising flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • black pepper, to taste (dash)
  • 3 T cold butter, cubed
  • 3 oz cheddar cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 C milk

Mix flour, salt, and pepper. Cut in butter, then add in cheese, milk and egg. Stir thoroughly, then drop by the heaping tablespoon over stew. Brush the tops with additional milk.

Place stew, uncovered, in oven and cook about 45 minutes, or until cobbler topping is thoroughly cooked.

If you’re interested at all, please go check out the original recipe at http://www.amuse-your-bouche.com/mushroom-walnut-stew-cheesy-cobbler-topping/  the pictures are gorgeous, and lots of worthwhile comments to read.

2 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Mushroom and Walnut Stew with Cheesy Cobbler Topping

    • Thanks, I absolutely loved this dish! Hope you don’t mind me posting it on the blog, but I just had to share 🙂 thanks for the great recipe!

What do you think?

