Dei Fratelli Review plus a GIVEAWAY!

The wonderful people at Dei Fratelli sent me an awesome goodie package – full of tons of great tomato products just begging to be turned into delicious vegetarian dishes! 

The first thing that struck me about their products was the “natural” label on the front. Normally I’m a little suspect of that term, so I turned the can around and read the ingredient list, which read as follows:

I was impressed by the simplicity of it, though one thing that I didn’t like was the inclusion of corn starch in some (but not all) of the items, which is probably GMO since I didn’t find a non-GMO label on the product. (I would LOVE to see an inclusion of this in future products *HintHint* 😉 ) Basically, from the ingredient list, it looks like real food ingredients that anybody might use in making homemade tomato sauce (with a couple of exceptions), which I think is pretty awesome!

 Typically, I like to use Tuttorosso tomato products, and had some on hand, so I actually was able to do a side-by-side comparison as far as ingredients and taste. I actually found that the Dei Fratelli crushed tomatoes were brighter and more balanced as far as acidity when compared to the Tuttorosso crushed, which have a more tart and plumby taste, though the ingredient lists were equally impressive. On the downside, the Dei Fratelli had a white lining on the can which I assume to be a BPA lining, whereas the Tuttorosso does not. From my research I have learned that it is especially harmful to have BPA linings in tomato products, because the acid from the tomatoes will leach the toxic BPA into the food, so this would be another thing I would love to see changed in the product.

I served up the salsa for the whole family with a bag of Xochitl GMO-free corn tortilla chips, and everybody loved it, thought I would have preferred a little more chunky texture. Again, I loved the small ingredient list and the fact that there are no artificial additives or preservatives.

One consistent theme I noticed in the seasoned items was the really great garlic flavor. I love garlic, and thought the amount used was perfect compared to other products, where you can barely taste the garlic, if at all. Most of the items were very well balanced in acidity and worked great for the different recipes I used them in.

Here are just a few of the meals I was able to create:

Classic Tomato Soup Recipe

Three-Cheese Stuffed Shells

Fast & Easy Vegan Sloppy Joes

Bottom line, if you are looking for a natural tomato product with very few ingredients, this is an excellent brand to go with, and I would highly recommend it.

You can find more information about Dei Fratelli at :

Website: www.deifratelli.com

Twitter: @DeiFratelli

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DeiFratelli

On to the giveaway . . .

Up for grabs is an awesome promotional hat from Dei Fratelli:

Entering is easy– just send an email to vegetarianmadeeasy@hotmail.com with the phrase “GIVEAWAY” in the subject line. Tell me which recipe featured on this blog you have tried, and let me know what you thought of it. If you haven’t tried a recipe yet, just let me know which one you would like to try, and why!

That’s it! One winner will be chosen randomly on or about March 16th. Open to residents of the USA onlyWinner will be notified by email and will have 48 hours to reply with a mailing address for the prize. Failure to respond within 48 hours will result in forfeiture of prize, and a new winner will be chosen.

Good luck, and don’t forget to tell your friends, so they can enter too!

What do you think?

