Sea Bakin’ Seaweed Snacks – Review

 

Sea Bakin' from The Sea Of Change Trading Co.

Recently, I had the opportunity to try an awesome snack food called Sea Bakin’ from The Sea Of Change Trading Co. Never heard of Sea Bakin’? Neither had I, so you could imagine my curiosity as I opened the box to discover the three flavor varieties inside (with very cool looking packaging I might add!).

As you might have already guessed, Sea Bakin’ is made from dried seaweed (Nori, to be exact), which is a rich source of minerals and other nutrients. It’s a great snack option for people with food allergies, since it’s labeled as GMO-, gluten-, soy-, and dairy-free. It’s also sustainably harvested, which means it’s good for the earth… umm… I mean ocean.

GMO, Gluten, Soy, and Dairy -Free Snack: Sea Bakin' from The Sea Of Change Trading Co.

The Sea Bakin’ is made from sun-dried, whole leaf nori, then lightly roasted with a few organic ingredients to add flavor. Yum! Here’s a snapshot of the back of the package, complete with a totally awesome sea diver guy:

Package Details: Sea Bakin' from The Sea Of Change Trading Co.

Honestly, I was really impressed by the ingredient list. Not only are the ingredients organic, they’re also all extremely healthy. I also took a shot of the Nutrition Facts chart (below). It has good amounts of Vitamins A and C, as well as calcium and iron, but the thing that surprised me the most was the low calorie count at only 56 calories per serving. Which, of course, means guilt-free snacking- always a plus in my book! 🙂

Nutrition Facts: Sea Bakin' from The Sea Of Change Trading Co.

Another shot of the packaging, this time the bottom. In case you couldn’t tell, I was kind of obsessed with reading the bag. There was just so much to look at!  Middle reads: Did you know that the ocean is home to over 400 kinds of edible seaweed? (FYI – I did not know this and was pretty amazed! That’s a whole lotta snack food…)

Sea Bakin' from The Sea Of Change Trading Co.

When I finally got around to opening the packages, I wasn’t really sure what to expect. Basically, Sea Bakin’ looks and feels like dried seaweed- very light and airy, and coated in yummy spices. This stuff has a very crispy crunch that reminded me somewhat of pork rinds (Sorry- I wasn’t always a vegetarian, you know!).  Here’s a look at the actual Sea Bakin’:

Sea Bakin' from The Sea Of Change Trading Co.

As I mentioned before, it comes in three flavor varieties- Thai BBQ, Garden Vegetable, and Maple. Out of the three, I was surprised to find that my favorite was definitely the Garden Vegetable. It has a tangy, Ranch-style flavor that can get pretty addicting. The maple was also good, and balanced nicely with the slightly ‘green’ flavor of the nori, while the Thai BBQ was perhaps a little too mild for my tastes and had a definite brine-ey flavor.

This stuff is definitely unique and a must-try for adventurous foodies and health-conscious snackers alike. If you’d like to try Sea Bakin’ for yourself, you can place an order through the Sea of Change website, or if you’re located in California, you can get them at your local health food store.

If you’ve already tried Sea Bakin’, let me know what you thought of it in the comments section below!

 

Thanks to The Great & Wonderful Sea of Change Trading Company for sending me free samples of their products in exchange for an honest review!

 

Want to learn more about Sea Bakin’?

Visit www.seaofchangetrading.com

Follow them on Twitter, Google+ and Facebook.

 

Sea Bakin' from The Sea Of Change Trading Co.

 

2 thoughts on “Sea Bakin’ Seaweed Snacks – Review

  1. Sea Bakin is awesome! I’ve been getting them locally in the Bay Area. They taste like the best potato chips you’ve ever had, and are very addictive 🙂

What do you think?

